konkrit / Musik

Sova Podcast 7: »Silence Equals Death«

Sova Podcast 7: konkrit -»Silence Equals Death«

Exclusively featuring women* and trans* folks. All active and perhaps bookable for your festivals and panel discussions.

  1. Birds Of Passage – The Monster Inside You (Denovali)
  2. Hildur Guðnadóttir – Aether (Touch)
  3. Vow – Cypress (Our Voltage)
  4. Julia Holter – In the Green Wild (Domino)
  5. Katie Gately – Pivot (Fat Cat)
  6. Holly Herndon – Interference (RVNG Intl.)
  7. Kyoka – Re-Pulsion (raster-noton)
  8. Cooly G – Him Da Biz (Hyperdub)
  9. Jessy Lanza – Keep Moving (Hyperdub)
  10. Xosar – Elixir Of Dreams (Rush Hour)
  11. DJ Sprinkles – Hush Now (Skylax)

Vinyl only. Conceived, recorded and mixed on September 10th, 2015.


Design by Monika Janulevičiūtė. Thank you.


Disclaimer: I know how complacent it seems for a white middle-class cishet dude to advertise a mix like this. I wouldn’t point out that my all-male mixes – of which there exist plenty – exclusively feature dude. However, I am also tired of the general notion of there being »statistically speaking« less women* or trans* people out there, as if that would explain male-dominated line-ups and panel discussions. My intent thus was to create a stylistically diverse mix and direct your attention to the people behind that music. I do believe that bringing visibility to women* and trans* people is a means to end when it comes to gender equality. My contribution to this with this mix alone is not enough, but simply creating this mix was a reminder to myself that I, too, do not challenge the status quo as often and as efficiently as I think I should. And by the way, it was incredibly easy to find all those pieces in my record collection – the real problem was limiting myself to only an hour of music.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s